Introducing Chaya Parmessur

It is my honor to introduce you to a talented writer, Chaya  Parmessur,  who was born in Mauritius  from an Indian family settled in  Mauritius from the Indian State of  Bihar. Mauritius  is an island nation off the southeast coast of the African continent in the southwest Indian Ocean.

She received a scholarship from  the Mauritian Government and studied  Chemical Engineering at Emmanuel  College, Cambridge University and lived  in the United Kingdom for 14 years.  In  1997, tired of the English weather, she  went to work in Perth, Western  Australia, where she is now a permanent  resident.  Chaya is now living in Paris  and working as a Senior Process Engineer in the oil and gas industry.  Chaya has traveled extensively, visiting  more than 35 countries and has a  fascination for all the different  cultures and people of the world.

Chaya also enjoys playing the piano,  painting, writing, reading, cooking, and yoga.

“Yoga is my everyday passion and my hub on “How to become a yoga instructor” was selected for the Fav 14 competition.”

How to become a Yoga Teacher

Chaya published her first novel in 2004 called which is called,

The Snake Spirit Part 1 The Fire Giver

The  Snake Spirit, Part 1, is her first  novel and she is already working on  Part 2.  Chaya has been a writer all  her life, but over the last few years,  helped by a supportive Creative Writing  Group, she suddenly found her own  original voice.  The image of her  great-grandmother, who had died when  the author was eleven, became vivid and  many of the stories recounted by the  old lady started surfacing from some  remote corner of the subconscious. ”

Here is a description of Chaya’s book, which you will find quite fascinating.

“Time is running out for Dado, the Cursed One, who has to  pass on all her powers to her great-granddaughter, Nandi,  who is fascinated by the inhabitants of the Big Old House,  including Local Einstein, The Philosopher, The Alcoholic,  The Exorcist as well as the Spirits who reside there. As  Nandi finds out more about her family’s turbulent past,  her own life experiences take her to places she never knew  existed. This is the story of an Indian family making  an incredible journey, like millions of people all over the  world, to settle on the island of Mauritius, a Paradise at  first glance.The story combines depth of feeling  with great imagination. Here, there is realism and magic at  work.” CP

Please enjoy one of Chaya’s favorite poems that she wrote.

“In my novel, a philosopher teaches the protagonist, a young girl, about most of the philosophical questions about our existence. One day he disappears from her life and he leaves her a poem.” CP

http://chayaparmessur.hubpages.com/hub/The-Universe-and-You

The Universe and You

The Universe and me?

In this expansive universe

I am hardly conspicuous

Yet, my ego is everywhere.

Unconditional love?

How beautiful!

Yet, I take advantage of those who love me.

What about Reality?

Maybe a Matrix does control me

My reality is a mere illusion.

The Age of Kali?

Kali, the goddess of destruction

She is warning me to stop

Yet, I march on bravely.

Enlightenment?

Buddha said the way to end suffering

Is to look deep within

Where that sacred place awaits me.

Nirvana is the ultimate heaven.

Jesus crucified?

The image of Jesus being crucified

Still gives me nightmares

Yet he was happy to die and forgive us.

He found that place Buddha was talking about.

Reclining Buddha

Jesus on the Cross

Fierce Kali

They are all trying to tell me something.

I think I know what, but how can I be sure?

Why are there sects?

Sects form and disappear

Mass suicide, their preferred way to depart

What do they see that I do not see?

Is what I see really there?

The close by stars are

Several light years away

I cannot imagine these distances.

As I stare I realize these stars may be dead

I am staring at their past.

How can I be sure anything exists then?

The Truth?

Great sages all claim they know the Truth

They have seen It in their meditations

In their communion with the Supreme being.

When will I know the Truth?

Science?

Scientists dream of discovering

The truth about our beginnings

Science can explain almost everything.

That’s what they tell me.

Waiting for…

A messiah

Kalki on his white horse

Anyone who will come and rescue me.

Yet there is one Truth I am sure of

My Universe revolves around you.

Chaya’s links:

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=ntt_athr_dp_sr_1?_encoding=UTF8&search-alias=books&field-author=Chaya%20Parmessur

http://chayaparmessur.hubpages.com/

http://www2.xlibris.com/bookstore/bookdisplay.aspx?bookid=16048

Thank you Chaya for letting me honor you today and share your gift. Wishing you much success in your continued journey as a writer and in life.

Sunnie

6 thoughts on “Introducing Chaya Parmessur

  1. Dear Sunnie,

    What a beautiful woman inside and out… thank you for introducing me to Chaya’s background and writings. I am looking forward to following her on HubPages to learn even more more insights from this old soul with much wisdom to share. This seems like the beginning of an amazing creative journey for this talented lady! Hugs, Maria

    • Thank you Mar for stopping by to read about Chaya. Yes she is a very creative writer. I am honored to have featured her. Happy Holidays my friend. Love, Sunnie

      ________________________________

  2. Hello Chaya. It is lovely to meet you and learn about your interesting history. I shall look for you on HubPages.
    Sunnie, thank you for the opportunities you give to meet new people. This blog is wonderful.

Leave a Reply

