Introducing Brenda Joyce Barnes Otherwise Known as Hyphenbird

 ][

Dante’s Prayer by Loreena McKennitt

When the dark wood fell before me
And all the paths were overgrown
When the priests of pride say there is no other way
I tilled the sorrows of stone

I did not believe because I could not see
Though you came to me in the night
When the dawn seemed forever lost
You showed me your love in the light of the stars

Cast your eyes on the ocean
Cast your soul to the sea
When the dark night seems endless
Please remember me

Then the mountain rose before me
By the deep well of desire
From the fountain of forgiveness
Beyond the ice and fire

Cast your eyes on the ocean
Cast your soul to the sea
When the dark night seems endless
Please remember me

Though we share this humble path, alone
How fragile is the heart
Oh give these clay feet wings to fly
To touch the face of the stars

Breathe life into this feeble heart
Lift this mortal veil of fear
Take these crumbled hopes, etched with tears
We’ll rise above these earthly cares

Cast your eyes on the ocean
Cast your soul to the sea
When the dark night seems endless
Please remember me
Please remember

I would like to introduce you to one of my precious friends Brenda also known as Hyphenbird. I met Brenda like many of my friends on hub pages. She had the sweetest spirit and it was not long before we were sharing comments on a daily basis. She touched my heart so when I received a book in the mail from her as a gift. It was truly touching. I know you will enjoy getting to know her and I believe she will touch your heart like she has done for so many others. SD

“My pen name is Hyphenbird (after my cockatiel) but my real name is Brenda Joyce Barnes. I am a mother, grandmother, photographer and writer. I was born in 1955, a Christmas baby, and the only girl in a family with six children and grew up in a rural environment for the most part which instilled a lifelong love of nature in me. Currently I live in North  Carolina with my small family, one dog and a bird that has become a beloved friend. They graciously make room for several thousand beloved books that I cannot seem to part with. I can often be found outdoors in a forest in search of a waterfall hidden deep in the forest or writing about something that has piqued my interest. Many of my strongest writings have been created while knee-deep in water.

I love to cook and bake bread several times a week to compliment the meals my family enjoys. We always eat dinner together and that brings us closer as we share our day. I also write, of course, and produce much in the evenings and late into the night. Recently I have challenged myself to 2,000 words a day and am amazed at all I have accomplished.

Some of my favorite poets are: Sara Teasdale, Pablo Neruda, Christina Rossetti, Maria Rilke and dozens more! Some favorite writers and books are: Carson McCullers,  Emily Brontë’s Wuthering Heights, The Thorn Birds, Out of Africa, and oh so many more!

I have begun a series of stories about my childhood and will be publishing them in a book soon. I keep remembering more and more funny and loving times that just must be included. Still, they should be available by the beginning of 2012. Every one is based on fact but highly exaggerated to be entertaining and hilarious. Also, one of my stories is being considered by the Cheerios Spoonfuls of Stories contest. If-when-I win, the prize comes with a contract from Simon and Schuster. WhooHoo

I am currently unemployed and hope to remain in this state as my writing and  photography generate income for me. I know my time is too valuable to be given up for a few paltry dollars. Too many years disappeared while I pushed my longings and gifts into the background. I seriously advise people not to follow that example.

During my previous long and many careers, I traveled and lived in several states. I suppose I am a Jack Of All Trades as my insatiable curiosity led me into fields I never thought I would work in. As I grew older, I moved to be closer to my terminally ill father and somehow have remained here.

I am a volunteer for several nonprofits, a proud Meal on Wheels delivery person, A Notary Public, and was chosen Volunteer of the Year at my son’s school. That means more to me than the trip to Acapulco that I won when I was working retail.

Brenda shares thoughts from her heart.

“I never remember a time when I couldn’t read and carried books everywhere I went as a child (still do). I would climb a tree and rest back in the arms of a bough, settle in and read for hours.”

“My imagination is all over the place as it bounces from creating outlandish fiction to recounting Biblical events and onto poetry and health issues faced by the American public. And if you think it, why not write about it?”

“People are more important than anything man-made or created for profit.”

In that regard, I continually purge my home of clutter and excess stuff that takes time and focus from my family. The more minimal my life becomes, the more joyful it also becomes.

“Never let one moment of life slip by. Every 86,400 seconds in the day are miracles that can never be replaced or relived.”

My favorite piece that I have written would probably be one about my little boy. It mentions his chameleon eyes because they change color with his moods and surroundings.

The Wonder of Love

I see you snuggled there in bed in your cozy pajamas

with your hair all tousled and those chameleon eyes

still seeing drowsy dreams, and you bring

the wonder of love to my heart again.

Another favorite tells about my love of water and how I wish my ashes to be poured over a waterfall after I die so I can travel the world.

Around The World In Water

Liquid crystal drops collide and form a powerful slide

rushing headlong down the face of grey, wet rock.

Seventy feet of glory-and majesty comes to mind as misty

thunder birthed from the womb up above shudders down .

Reflectively I consider that this began long ago and far away

and how quicksilver fluid life always returns to the source.

When I die, burn me to fine, silky ashes that my

beloved will pour into the head of these falls.

Cheer as I flow into the stream below and roam

down the parkway to add needed moisture to a world

sadly parched for beauty and aching for saturation of joy.

May I be the tears in your eyes and the ice cream

taste of snow on your frozen and startled tongue.

That funny wisp of cloud you see before a Spring rain

just might be me floating by and looking back to say,

I am eternally happy out here in a great big watery world.

Do not weep for me nor grieve that I left before my time,

but sigh with blissful smiles to know I am one with the sea

and have traveled in many forms to Alaska, to Africa and back

again to these craggy mountains that I have always loved.

From Crabtree Falls down the Blue Ridge into Smoky Mountain

mystery and onward to Rocky ridges and over Niagara into Victoria

I fell before crashing onto the crazy plastic California shore.

The Mediterranean really is that blue and I flew through a Galapagos

turtle stampede before leaping the Mariana Trench with a mermaid wench.

Returning to where it all began, I need you to know me, give a glance

or a slight wave as my damp breath touches your curly long hair.

Now that my wandering ways bring me back here to where

you sit remembering and staring off into that black abyss

see how this sparkle of dew in the spider web near you

trembles, begging for just one more long wet kiss.

Brenda has a new childrens book on Kindle. Please stop by and take a look.

Calvin is an earthworm who lives in a compost bin with his family. They have worked the soil for generations and lived happily. But when chemicals used on the lawns and gardens begin causing harm and death to the worms and to the environment, Calvin takes a stand to educate everyone about the dangers and to restore health to his world. He embarks on a journey that will change him and the world as he knows it forever.

Calvin Compost in Organic City by Brenda J. Barnes

http://www.amazon.com/Calvin-Compost-Organic-City-ebook/dp/B0076ON8DE/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1330387352&sr=1-1

 

Brenda’s Links

http://hyphenbird.hubpages.com/
hyphenbird@gmail.com

Dear Brenda,

Thank you so much for letting me share your story. It is truly an honor to introduce you to our many friends. I pray that as you continue on your journey that it will be filled with God’s unfailing love and joy.

Love,

Sunnie

11 thoughts on “Introducing Brenda Joyce Barnes Otherwise Known as Hyphenbird

  1. I love to read Brenda’s writings and enjoyed this bio of hers tremendously, and especially the poems. Thanks Sunnie, for introducing her like this. Brenda, you’ve got a devoted fan in me. I’m looking forward to buy the book about the stories of your childhood. Those stories are certainly of the best in HubPages. I wish you all of the best and only success in all your endeavors.

  2. Hi Brenda,
    Happy to see this bio and learn more about you. I so agree that it’s important to spend our time pursuing our passions and am glad you are currently devoting much of your time to sharing your masterful and creative writings on Hub Pages. The range of topics that you write on astounds me and I always learn something from every hub whether it be about cooking, religion, nature, history or general life wisdom. I can be moved to tears by one of your stories and laughing out loud at the next story, or shift back and forth within the same piece, but whether I’m laughing or crying your writing is always enjoyable and touches my heart.
    Like Sunnie, you are such an inspiration for me and I always enjoy reading comments you leave on my own hubs and on the hubs of so many others because your comments are supportive, compassionate and add depth and understanding to the topic at hand.
    Good luck with the Cheerios Spoonfulls of Stories contest. I’ll be praying that you win it!

  3. Sunnie that wonderful nature of yours has brought us insight into another loving and warm member of Hub Pages. Hyphenbird has such talent as a writer, but more so her ability to encourage and support her fellow writers comes from the heart. It makes her special and I am very proud to follow her.

    Brenda I will follow where you teach and continue to stand in awe of your beautiful persona. x

  4. Dear Sunnie and Brenda,

    This has been a fabulous introduction of a woman I respect and admire. Brenda, your writing truly is a calling and your story helps me to understand why this is so. I am inspired by your dedication and committment, always completely engaged in what I am reading from you. Your childhood series is unique and utterly charming– I am eager to have this book as a treasure on my shelf in 2012 and wish you much continued peace, happiness and creativity. All my best, Maria

  5. I have had the privilege of reading this writer’s work. She is a terrific writer, who in one instance will make you laugh and the next cause an unexpected tear. Her keen eye will amaze the reader and her wanderlust pulls us into any environment she wishes to create. Hop on over to Hubpages and look up Hyphenbird.

  6. Thank you everyone. Your gracious comments touch my heart, encourage and inspire me. May you all be blessed in every way possible.

  7. I have read Hyphenbird and now I feel delighted to know Brenda Joyce Barnes. She is not only a terrific writer/poet but also an accomplished photographer.

  8. Dear Sunnie and Brenda
    I so much enjoyed reading about Brenda. It is always so nice to learn more about the people that I truly admire on HubPages. Thank you Sunnie.
    Susan Zutautas AKA Just Ask Susan

Leave a comment